How to Cancel Your Midjourney Subscription

Don’t want to be billed again? Learn how to cancel your Midjourney subscription today!

To Cancel Subscription:

  • On the Web: Go to midjourney.com and sign in to your Discord account. Then, click Manage Sub > Manage > Cancel Plan > Confirm Cancellation.
  • On Discord: Type /subscribe in any channel on the Midjourney server and click on the link from the bot. Then, click Edit Billing > Cancel Plan > Confirm Cancellation.

As technology evolves, humans quickly adopt it—especially when it’s easily accessible. But it can be overwhelming when it’s widely available online. Add the fact that it’s free, and it’s like a storm of excitement. This was the case with Midjourney, an AI-based text-to-image generation tool.

Midjourney discontinues free image generation and introduces a subscription model. Even so, many paid subscribers end their Midjourney journey once they achieve their initial goal. The reasons can vary greatly—they might have finished a project, felt dissatisfied with their subscription plans, or found a more suitable alternative.

How to Cancel Your Midjourney Subscription

How to Cancel Midjourney Subscription

You can either delete your subscription on the website or through Discord. It’s a matter of convenience. Here’re the steps for each method:

On the Website

  • Go to midjourney.com and click on the Sign In button.
  • Sign in to your Discord account and authorize the Midjourney bot to access it by clicking on the “Authorize” button.
  • On the left sidebar, click on Manage Sub.
  • Next to the Plan Details title, click on the Manage button.
  • A pop-up window will appear with a Cancel Plan button. Click on it.
  • Click on the Confirm Cancellation button.
  • You will receive an email confirmation from Midjourney and your plan will cancel at the end of the current subscription period.

On Discord

This method involves using a slash command on Discord and following a link that the Midjourney bot sends you. Then, you need to edit your billing information and cancel your plan. Here are the steps to do so:

  1. Go to the Midjourney server on Discord and select any channel on the left.
  2. Type /subscribe in the message field and hit Enter.
  3. You will receive a private message from the Midjourney bot with a link to the subscription page. Click on it.
  4. On the subscription page, click on the Edit Billing button.
  5. A pop-up window will appear with a Cancel Plan button. Click on it.
  6. Click on the Confirm Cancellation button.
  7. You will receive an email confirmation from Midjourney and your plan will cancel at the end of the current subscription period.

What Happens After You Cancel Your Subscription?

You’ll be notified of your cancellation via email from Midjourney and a message on your account dashboard will confirm that your subscription has been canceled.

Your eligibility for getting a refund depends on the GPU minutes you used that month — for example, if you have used less than 1% of your monthly GPU minutes, including time used in Relax Mode, you’ll get a full refund. But if you have used more than 1%, you’ll get a prorated refund based on the usage of the plan you are canceling. But if you have used all or most of your GPU minutes, unfortunately, you’ll get nothing.

What You Can and Can’t Do After Cancelling Your Subscription

Alright, your Midjourney account isn’t going to disappear right after you hit cancel. You can still use it until the end of the cancellation period — 14 days from your first payment or 24 hours from your renewal payment. Once that period is over, though, it’s sayonara to all the cool features and perks your subscription plan offers. You can still look at all the images you’ve made before and download them, but making new ones is a no-go.

What if I Deleted my Discord Account

Even if your Discord account is gone, Midjourney will still send you the bill for the next cycle unless you cancel your subscription through their website or the Discord bot. And without Discord, you’re locked out of your Midjourney account.

So, to restore your Discord account, log into it with your email and password. You’ll see a dialog box that says “Your account is scheduled to self-destruct soon… are you sure you still want that?”. Just click the Restore Account button to recover your deleted account within 14 days of deletion. If you miss your grace period, your Discord account cannot be restored. In that case, you will need to contact Discord support and request them to activate your account for you.

To restore your Discord account within 14 days, follow these steps:

  • Open the Discord app or website and enter your email and password.
  • If you see a dialog box that says “Your account is scheduled to self-destruct soon… are you sure you still want that?”, click Restore Account.
  • You will receive a confirmation email from Discord. Click on the link in the email to verify your identity and restore your account.

Once you’ve restored your Discord account, you can cancel your Midjourney subscription through either the Midjourney website or the Discord bot.